RIPE@2012 Conference

Value for Public Money – Money for Public Value

The 6th RIPE conference convened in Sydney on 5-7 September. The conference was hosted by the University of Sydney and sponsored by the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC).

For the finalised result of the conference visit here.

Conference program

You can find the conference program here.

Workgroups and papers

The papers can be found here. You’ll find the complete roster of authors with their paper titles for the five workgroups that collaborated this year to develop knowledge and insight about the future of public service media.

For your convenience, the five workgroups and those responsible for the proceedings are summarised below. The Chairs and Deputies were responsible for co-ordination. The ABC Respondents were active in remarking on papers and contributing to deliberations to reach conclusions on the third day.

Workgroup 1: PSM Financing and Business Models
Chair = Karen Donders, Institute for European Studies, Brussels. Deputy Chair = Marko Ala-Fossi, University of Tampere, Finland. The ABC Respondent = Michael Ward

Workgroup 2: PSM Structure, Production and Policy
Chair = Hallvard Moe, University of Bergen, Norway. Deputy Chair = Ruth Zanker, Christchurch Polytechnical Institute of Technology, New Zealand. The ABC Respondents = Michelle Fisher & Michael Brealey

Workgroup 3: Defining Public Value Today
Chair = Barbara Thomass, Ruhr-University, Germany. Deputy Chair = Josef Trappel, University of Salzburg, Austria. The ABC Respondent = David Sutton.

Workgroup 4: Improving PSM Value
Chair = Nobuto Yamamoto, Keio University, Japan. Deputy Chair = Fiona Martin, University of Sydney, Australia. The ABC Respondent = Jane Connors

Workgroup 5: PSM Value for Audiences and Users
Chair = Matthew Hibberd , University of Stirling, Scotland. Deputy Chair = Per Jauert, Aarhus University, Denmark. The ABC Respondent = Mark Tapley.